Setting goals – 5w/kg

I’m on week 2 of my cycling comeback, been riding the Power Cranks for all my weekday rides. Still working on my goals for 2011, but I know one is going to be The Fort Davis Hammerfest race in April. For those of you that don’t troll the TXBRA.org message board, Fort Davis is the only race (it’s a stage race) where climbing is a deciding factor. That being said, my goal is to be able to produce 5 watts per kilogram for a 20 minute effort in time for Fort Davis. That level would make me more than competitive on the climbs.  I think my previous best is 4.8 w/kg, so I’ve got some work to do.

3 responses to “Setting goals – 5w/kg

  1. Just did the tour out there and 5w/kg should do it….I have posted my best times after losing a bunch of weight….so good luck.

  2. those last 0.2 are a big jump, but 4.8 is a great number to start with! i’ve been a slave to the power curve lately, too; the damn machine keeps winning.

  3. Hello there!

    I have been looking through your archives, and I saw that you started using Power cranks last winter. What was your conclusion after using them for most of the year? Do you think they’re worth the price? Did it help you smooth out your stroke? Did it help you gain strength on hills?

    I’m a cyclist and triathlete looking to improve my pedal stroke and efficiency, and I was interested to hear what you have to say about them.

Leave a Reply

