A Father’s Joy

I intended to write a post tonight about my epic bike ride in Santa Barbara on Wednesday. However, something happened this weekend that I have been waiting for a long time – Grant is now riding his “big boy” bike. Let me take you back . . .

I first got into cycling when Grant was almost a year old. In fact, “bike” was his third word after “Daddy” and “Wrigley” (our dog). Grant has also taking a keen interest in helping me maintain my bikes, racing, etc. He loves to put air in the tires, help me change flats and fill my water bottles with Gatorade.

I got Grant a Like-a-Bike at an early age hoping he would really take to it – but he didn’t. Then we got a tricycle – he could care less. Then we got his “big boy” bike with training wheels – the only thing he liked about it was the water bottle holder.

So I’ve never pushed him. I figured he would decide when he was ready, but I would never be the kind of Dad that forces his hobbies/sports on his kids. So needless to say I was thrilled when Grant rode his bike for the first time yesterday. Then today we went riding again and he has already improved and gained more confidence. He was throwing out phrases and cycling terminology I didn’t even know he knew as we pedaled around the cul-de-sac:

“Daddy, I’m going to use my turbo booster”

“Daddy, I’m in the lead”

“Daddy, I’m going to sprint for the finish”

The best part is to see him get so excited. When I asked him if we wanted to go ride today he was so excited that he put his sandals on backwards (notice in pic above).

I wasn’t even on a bike, but that ranks as one of my all-time favorite rides.

3 responses to “A Father’s Joy

  1. Beautiful stuff! Man I hope my (future) kids like biking someday 🙂

  2. True story: The other day we were on a family ride and Allie (from the trailer) told Megan, “Daddy is gonna drop the hammer on you, Mommy.”

  3. Oops — mean to say ABBY, not Allie…

Leave a Reply

