Lots of spinning . . . 11,500 revolutions?

One of the benefits of riding a single speed is that it is relatively easy to determine how many times you “turned the cranks” on a given ride. I’ll save you the boring math, but I’m riding 48×18 right now, which means that on my 40 mile ride yesterday my cranks completed 11,500 revolutions – assuming no coasting (which I try not to do while riding SS). It’s a different way of looking at things – everytime I turn the cranks over I’m pushing the bike forward 18+ ft.

Leave a Reply

