Sansom Park

Sansom Park

Sunday I did something a little different. I took my ‘cross bike and rode up the Trinity Trail to Sansom Park. Sansom Park has a mountain bike trail system maintained by the Fort Worth Mountain Bikers Association (FWMBA). I don’t even own a mountain bike anymore (my chronic shoulder injury makes regular mountain biking tough) so I’ve never been to Sansom. I decided it would be fun to try one of the easy loops on my ‘cross bike (plus it would serve as a good test to see if my shoulder could hold up to some regular MTB riding/racing).

I discovered one thing. Riding any mountain bike trail on a rigid bike (particularly one with drop bars and 32c tires) isn’t that much fun. I only did the green loop, but it was enough to “quench” my “thirst” for some MTB racing right now . . . my shoulder just doesn’t have the stability to handle it.

However, Sansom is a great trail (much hillier than you would expect) and the FWMBA does a great job maintaining it – definitely worth a visit.

One response to “Sansom Park

  1. this trail is really hard but its a fun ride. i would recommend you go with someone who knows the trail because we rode it backwards first and then rode it the right way it was alot of fun… really rocky

Leave a Reply

