The Big Chill

Cold Miser

So yesterday I started my Thanksgiving early. Getting up at 6 a.m. in order to eat, change and ride out to the Turkey Trot. The Turkey Trot is an annual 5K and 10K run in Fort Worth that is sponsored by the Moritz family of dealerships.  Since Moritz also sponsors our cycling team, we lead out the runs every year.

Mortiz Chevrolet Cycling

It’s was about 7 miles from the house to the start, but it was also 35 degrees with a windchill of 26, which makes it more like a 18 degree windchill on the bike (moving 20 mph). So needless to say I was an icicle. I was just starting to warm-up as I reached the start, but I made good time there so then I had to wait with the rest of my team for about 30 minutes before the start of the 5K. I started to get really cold again and literally couldn’t stop shivering.

We led out the 5K (right behind the motorcycle police) and finished pretty quickly since the lead runner was smoking (Corey Stiles who finished the 3.1 miles in 15:16). In fact, he was so fast that we had to weave through slower runners at the finish where the course looped back on itself. That became such a big issue that the police asked us to not lead out the 10K since they thought it could cause problems (slower runners weren’t responding to the police sirens). I headed home with the intentions of riding another 30-40 miles, but literally couldn’t warm up and headed home.

All day Thursday I was cold and today wasn’t much different. I took off work at ThinkCashwith the intentions of doing a long ride in the morning (75-80 miles) and then watching the LSU game with Jess and Grant in the afternoon. Since there was rain in the forecast for the weekend, this would be my only chance to ride outside for a while. However, this morning I still couldn’t warm-up and rode the indoor trainer instead (which is torture) and did some work from home (a few things came up at the office, don’t they always?).

My core temp. finally feels normal again, but alas . .  . it’s raining outside. 

3 responses to “The Big Chill

  1. Kevin Strawbridge

    But, at least the Hogs won the game. Sorry, had to put in a plug for the Razorback wife 🙂

  2. I understand. You know me, the Arkansas game scares me every year. Arkansas always plays LSU tough and day games don’t give Tigers fans enought time to tailgate 😉

  3. Pingback: The Big Chill II « Texas Tailwind

Leave a Reply

