I’m Bachelor’n it for the week

So I dropped Jess and Grant off at the airport today – they are going home to Louisiana for a week. This will be the first year that we don’t go home to Louisiana for Christmas, so Jess and Grant are going to “make-the-rounds” and go visit the Great-Grandparents, cousins, etc. Although I will miss our traditional Cajun Christmas back home (lots of gumbo) it will be nice to stay home as well – no traveling, no schedules, opening presents Christmas morning at our house, etc.

It’s funny. Whenever Jess and Grant go back to Louisiana without me, people always ask, “what will you do with all your free time?”.  My answer is always the same, “Ride my bike and watch lots of movies”.  Since we had Grant, my movie consumption has decreased dramatically. With baby #2 due in April, I don’t see that changing anytime soon. So normally when Jess and Grant head out I’ll go to the theater and catch a flick or two and also rent a couple of DVDs. The one plus of not seeing many movies at the theater is that I have a large pool to choose from if I swing by Blockbuster for a new release.

Also, my team is hosting a cyclocross race this Sunday (Moritz Cowtown Cross). So I am volunteering on Sunday to help out, which should be fun.  I am about to enter serious training mode again because I am focusing my efforts this year on a couple races in February and March (before baby #2 comes). It would be nice to get a couple good results before the baby comes and the only way to do that is to stay very focuses this off-season. This unfortunately means lots of time on the stationary trainer . . . no pain, no gain.

Leave a Reply

