Bad things always come in threes

flat tire

The bane of every cyclist is the flat tire. I’ve been pretty lucky lately and haven’t had a flat tire in probably six months, maybe more. All that changed starting last night.  Last night I got out of the office early enough to go race in the Team Bicycles Inc. (TBi) Wednesday Night Crit – a very well-run weekly crit series here in Fort Worth.  I got to the Resource Connection (location of the race) early enough to change clothes, register, check my bike, etc. I proceeded to do some warm-up laps with my buddy Kevin from the FWCyling Ride. Everything was going perfect and I was looking forward to having a strong race after placing second last week. Then Murphy’s Law stepped in. With about 5 minutes until the start of the race I got a flat tire (the rear tire). I thought about throwing in the towel, thinking there was no way for me to get back to my car, change the tire and get to the starting line. I guess I was inspired because I decided to try and managed to change the tire faster than I ever have in my life. Seriously, I was NASCAR-pit-crew-fast. I managed to get to the line just before the start. I didn’t do as well as I would have liked, but was just happy I got to race – all things considered.

Then this morning I get up early to head out for the FWCycling Ride (I need to leave my house by 6 a.m. in order to get to the shop before they roll-out). As I checked the tire pressure I noticed that my front tire was low. Turns out to be another flat. Getting to FWCycling in time was now out-of-the-question, so I decided to ride solo on my cyclocross bike. It’s a nice change of pace and I didn’t feel like changing my tube.  About 2/3 of the way through my ride I make a sharp right-hand turn and I feel the front of the bike dive. I look down and see that my tire is flat. This makes 3 FLAT TIRES IN 12 HOURS!

If there is any upside to this story it’s this – I shouldn’t be due for another flat tire for about 12 months 😉

Leave a Reply

